1st day report

I made it.  I tried to blog last night, but I just didn’t have the energy.  Took me 12 hours to go 83 miles (including a stop at Walmart and 2 rest stops in the woods).  I also had to adjust my seat height 3 times, because my thighs were cramping up.  That was probably the most exercise I’ve ever gotten in one day.  I have to do another 78 miles to get to Jesup, and I am not looking forward to it.  I slept almost 12 hours, when I usually only sleep 6 or 7.  I’m staying with my couchsurfing host Russ Pate, and he has been quite hospitable.  He bought me 2 beers last night, which unfortunately did not stay in my stomach for more than 45 minutes.  Then he cooked me some tilapia… which also exited through the same hole they entered.  I thought I’d be much hungrier than I have been.  I guess I’ve got a lot of food from the last week or so which hasn’t been converted to energy yet.  My belly has shrunk considerably in the last 24 hours.  Yesterday I ate a cucumber, 2 bags of gRAWnola, 3 bananas, and about 5 oz of honey (before I arrived in Statesboro).  So maybe 1500 calories.  Once I burn through all this extra stored energy I’m sure I’ll be eating a lot more.  Today I’ve had one banana, and I’m not hungry at all.  I’m about to shave my head, for the first time in my life.  I figure now woud be the time to do it.  I will post again at my next opportunity.

Leave a comment